Screens
Rather than using terms like media players, smart TVs, devices, or displays, we simply refer to them all as screens.
Related Articles
Each screen represents one device—whether it’s a media player or a smart TV. For every screen, you’ll find detailed information, configurable settings, and available actions, such as rebooting the device, enabling auto-launch, and much more.
Screen setup and settings can vary based on your operating system. Head over to the Setup section to find your OS, learn how to add a screen, and explore the available settings.
Add a screen
Adding a screen happens in two stages. You have to install our app on your device and then link the app to your account at my.playsignage.com.
- Install the app on your device (Find your guide here; Setup), and note down the 6-digit code you should be seeing on your TV.
- Go to Screens
- Click Add Screen
- Input the 6-digit code
- Input a name for your screen
- Add it to a group or to a playlist
- Toggle on Production
- Click Add Screen
Remove a screen
- Go to Screens
- Click Settings (The gear icon on the right)
- Click Remove
Add a trial screen
Trial screens are for testing. You can add as many as 10 trial screens in a single account. All trial screens have a watermark.
- Install the app on your device (Find your guide here; Setup), and note down the 6-digit code you should be seeing on your TV.
- Go to Screens
- Click Add Screen
- Input the 6-digit code
- Input a name for your screen
- Add it to a group or to a playlist
- Make sure Production is turned off
- Click Add Screen
Upgrade a trial screen to production
- Go to Screens
- Click Trial
- Click Upgrade
See what content is running on a screen
- Go to Screens
- Click Screen Capture
- Click Click here to view (This is a notification you should be seeing in the top right corner)
Turn on Auto Launch on a screen
We always recommend you have auto-launch activated so that your content automatically starts if the app is closed or if there is a power outage.
- Go to Screens
- Click Settings (The gear icon on the right)
- Toggle on Launch player on startup
- Click Save
Turn on Analytics on a screen
Analytics is only available for the Ultimate subscription package.
- Go to Screens
- Click Settings (The gear icon on the right)
- Toggle on Analytics
- Click Save
Change the time when a screen reloads at night
By default, all screens are scheduled to reload at night; the time of day is not fixed, so you may see some screens reload at 1 AM and others at 12:24 AM. The reason we reload the screens is to prevent the cache from growing and risking a crash or poor performance on the device.
- Go to Screens
- Click Settings (The gear icon on the right)
- Find Reload player every day at and change the time
- Click Save
Turn off showing the top bar
When you move the cursor or use the remote, you'll notice the top menu bar appearing on your TV. In some cases, you may want to avoid this altogether, for example, on LED signs, billboards, etc. Other scenarios could be preventing users from exiting the app.
- Go to Screens
- Click Settings (The gear icon on the right)
- Open Advanced
- Toggle off Show top menu bar
Having turned off the top menu bar it will not appear when moving the cursor or using the remote. To bring it up use your keyboard; Ctrl + O.
Change the orientation to portrait
- Go to Screens
- Click Settings (The gear icon on the right)
- In Display Orientation, choose between Portrait (clockwise) and Portrait (counter-clockwise)
- Click Save
Find more information about screen orientation, click here!
Transfer a screen from one team to another
If you have multiple teams and you are the owner of, for example, team A and team B, you can transfer screens between those teams.
- Go to Screens
- Click Settings (The gear icon on the right)
- Click Transfer Screen
- In Select New Team, pick the team you'd like to transfer the screen to
- Click Save
Find more information about transferring screens, click here!
Check how much storage is left on your screen
- Go to Screens
- Click Settings (The gear icon on the right)
- Click Information
- Scroll down to Disc usage
Turn on Screen Share on a screen
You can use screen share privately or with anyone who has the magic link.
Private Screen Sharing
- Go to Screens
- Click Settings (The gear icon on the right)
- Click Screen Share
- Click Start
- Depending on what computer you're using, you'll be asked what to share
- Click Stop Sharing to stop sharing content to the screen
Public Screen Sharing
- Go to Screens
- Click Settings (The gear icon on the right)
- Click Screen Share
- Toggle ON Allow public screen share
- Copy the URL and send it to people who should be able to share to the screen
Find more information about transferring screens, click here!
Options when adding a new screen
- Screen name (optional) - This is the name of the screen.
- Group - If you have a group ready, where the screen should be added, find it here.
- Playlist - If you have no groups or only know what playlist should be running on the screen, find it here.
- Location (optional) - This is the location of the screen.
- Notes (optional) - There are notes for the screen.
- Tags (optional) - Add tags to the screen
- Production - If toggled off, the screen will be added as a trial screen. Toggle it on to add it as a production screen.
Options at the screens overview
- Connect Indicator - If green, the screen is connected to Play's cloud. If red, it's not connected. (Read more)
- Assigned to group - This is the group that is currently linked to the screen
- Status Indicator - If green checkmark, the screen has downloaded the latest content. If red exclamation mark it has not, and you should click Publish.
- Screen Capture - Click here to see what is running on the screen at that moment
- Publish - Click here to ask the screen to fetch the latest changes
- Settings - Open to find settings, information and Screen Share
Screen Capture lets you view what’s currently playing on your screen—similar to taking a screenshot.
Learn more about Screen Capture
We added Screen Edges to accommodate both older TVs as well as LED signs, Billboards, etc. An older TV may not always align with a modern media player and therefore the edges can be a bit off and the same goes for larger area screens, where playlists, content, etc., are based on pixel-by-pixel resolution.
Learn more about Screen Edges
Transfer Team allows you to move a linked screen from one team to another without having to remove and re-link it.
Learn more about Transfer Screen
Why is the content bigger than my TV's area?
Use Screen Edges to adjust the screen edges. This is especially useful when you have an older TV or a non-standard TV size.
Get started designing your content
Most people think designing content for digital signage is super difficult, but if you can use Powerpoint, you can also create and design your own content in our editor.


